Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata


Users can now manage their own Linchpin Mobile logins. The bug which concerned multiple push notifications is history now.

Feature description

The mobile management of system logins allows each user to remove their own mobile connections to a system when they are no longer needed.

Furthermore, every user can remotely invalidate mobile logins with their own user account at any time - which is practical in case of loss of a mobile device, for example, and increases the security of mobile access to Linchpin.

With version 3.4.0 of the app, all users have an overview available to them after logging in to a Linchpin system, listing all their own mobile connections to the system. Up to 100 last connections can be displayed.

Users can now remove all connections but the currently active one. Each connection is identifiable with help of last login time, device type and time of logging in.


Some background info

Some users of Linchpin Mobile or customized customer apps received push notifications from their app several times on the same mobile device.

The reason for receiving the same push notifications multiple times was that by adding a login for a Linchpin instance (e.g. to test something, to join a beta phase...) on a mobile device, the same device was registered multiple times to receive push notifications in Confluence.

This is done using a unique "push token" for each login. However, the user's removal of a login in the mobile app did not remove this push token in Confluence again, so that the same push notification was delivered to the mobile device multiple times.

Until now, the described behavior for affected users could only be resolved by a Confluence administrator who could remove outdated push tokens via an admin tool.



How can I manage my mobile connections for a system via the app?

Click on the More button within the mobile navigation.

Then, click on the Settings button.

Afterwards, click on the Manage connections button.

With your finger, drag the connection you wish to remove to the left. Then, click on the red delete button.



Why is it necessary to clean up logins in the app that are no longer needed?

Sometimes a login is not properly removed in Confluence (for example if a login is removed and reinstalled in the app's system overview due to technical reasons).

Due to the deletion on the mobile device, the login is no longer usable. It is safely invalidated, but the corresponding login information is still available in Confluence. This leads to the key for receiving push notifications (which is stored in Confluence) to be supplied with messages. Those messages are then sent to the user - multiple times.

The manual cleanup of logins via the mobile app ensures that only those credentials that are currently in use are available in Confluence.