LINCHPIN keeps track when people mention you, share content with you, comment on or like your content. All these activities cause notifications which are kept in your workbox in LINCHPIN. This video by Atlassian explains how notifications work in Confluence and in LINCHPIN:
If there are new notifications, you will see this from the notification count at the workbox icon. Clicking on the icon or pressing g and then n you opens the workbox to view you notifications. LINCHPIN aggregates likes and comments (see screenshot below) so you are not swamped by notifications.
Clicking on an item in the notifications workbox leads you to the notification details.
You can then jump to the page or content in question, like/unlike it, reply to it, or stop watching it if you no longer want to receive notifications about it. You can also receive notifications via email from LINCHPIN, most commonly this is enabled by default via the autowatch feature.
There are a few things to know about notifications:
Unread notifications are automatically deleted after 4 weeks. Notifications that you have already attended to are automatically deleted after 2 weeks.
Notifications cannot be deleted by yourself.
If you have your workbox open and a new notification arrives, the count appears on the workbox icon but the notification is not added to the workbox until after you close the workbox and re-open it.
LINCHPIN is able to receive notifications from JIRA if you have JIRA linked to it and work with JIRA 5.2 or later. A connection between LINCHPIN and JIRA must be enabled by an Administrator.
The workbox can be disabled by your Administrator.