Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata


In this section, you can manage the mobile gateway, registration via QR codes and users' connected devices.

Where to find mobile connection settings?

Navigate to Confluence administration → Linchpin Mobile → Connection settings



Linchpin Mobile Gateway

If your Confluence runs behind a firewall, you want to configure the connection settings.

Follow this link to read about our security concept for Linchpin Mobile Gateway.


You can either select the //SEIBERT/MEDIA gateway (cloud service) or use a custom gateway hosted in your company's infrastructure.

We created a detailed documentation on this; Just follow the link to our documentation on the mobile gateway.

Once the gateway connection is established, the connection switch is used to control the target state of the connection. If it is activated, an automatic mechanism takes care of maintaining the connection.


Gateway in single node environment (Server instances or Data Center with one node)

In a single server environment, the connection between the Confluence system and the gateway is established immediately after the connection switch is activated. A built-in mechanism ensures that the connection remains permanent. Even in the event of a temporary network problem, the connection is automatically re-established when it becomes available again.

If the server is restarted and the connection is activated, it will be established automatically.


Gateway in cluster environment (Data Center instances with multiple nodes)

In a cluster environment, the same principle applies as in the single-node environment. The logic for maintaining the connection works slightly different, though. Since it can happen in a cluster that a node fails completely, there is a mechanism for another node to take over the connection.

The integrated monitoring services ensure that if a node in the data center fails, the connection is taken over by another node after a maximum of 60 seconds. In this way, the permanent mobile availability of your Linchpin instance is ensured.

There is nothing else to do when adding or removing nodes in the Confluence cluster, as everything is managed automatically. However, you should be aware that when removing a node from the cluster, it may happen that the mobile clients will not be able to connect or receive data for a maximum of 60 seconds.

Clone detection in cluster environments: Please note that clone detection is not available for cluster environments. To clone a cluster environment (for example, to set up a test system), you must therefore make the necessary preparations yourself. We have summarized these for you over here: Cloning a Linchpin instance with an active connection to the Linchpin Mobile Gateway.


Device management

In this section, you can disable the QR code generation for Linchpin Mobile, manage connected devices and create custom invitation QR codes.


Manage QR code generation via user profiles

Activate the toggle. This will allow every user to register their mobile device via QR code from within their user profile.

Deactivate the toggle to forbid users to generate their own QR codes. If you choose to deactivate the QR code generation, enter instructions on how to register for Linchpin Mobile. Click on the Save button to save the instructions.

Those instructions will be displayed in the user's mobile access profile tab. You can use HTML here.


Register new devices

Here you can individually create QR codes for other users.

Search for the user you wish to create a QR code for. After selecting a user from the dropdown, Linchpin will automatically generate a QR login code.


In case your instance is connected to the Linchpin Mobile Gateway, you can first define the validity period of the login codes you create for a given user (see screenshot above). This option can be useful if, for example, the login code is to be sent to the employee by postal mail and thus cannot be scanned within 24 hours.


Revoke device access

Here you can remove users' mobile device access.

Search for the user you wish to manage.

Next to the device you wish to revoke access for, click on the Remove button.

Click on the Confirm button to confirm your action in the pop-up window. 




User directories

Here you can configure the SSO status for every user directory.

Next to the user directory's name, click on the list button to show all available options.

You can set the SSO status to either deactivated, activated or detect automatically.


Important: If you are unsure whether the SSO status should be activated or deactivated, set it to detect automatically.

Please note that you should not change these settings if everything works fine.




This page was last edited on 06/23/2021.