Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata


All microposts belong to a topic. This improves the information structure of a microblog. Learn how to configure topics for your Microblog.

How to access topics configuration

Navigate to Confluence administration > Microblog > Topics.


Alternatively, click on the settings button in your Linchpin header, then click on the Microblog link. Then choose the Topics tab.



Create a topic

All topics belong to a Confluence space. This is important. Attachments and permissions won't work properly otherwise.

Input the name of the space to which the topic should belong, then enter the topic name. To apply your changes, click on the Save button.


(info) You need to create at least one topic to be able to use the microblog.



Edit a topic

You can change the name of a topic by clicking the pen icon  in the "Actions" column.




Move a topic

You are able to move a topic and all its microposts to another space.

  1. Click on the "three-dots" button to open a context menu.
  2. Click on the Move topic button. A dialog will appear.
  3. Select a space and click on Move topic button again.

Depending on the number of microposts within the topic, this operation may take some time.



If the target space has different permissions than the old one, some users might not be able to edit or write new microposts anymore.




Remove a topic

There are two slightly different ways to remove a topic.


Remove a topic which contains no microposts

  1. Click on the "three-dots" button to open a context menu.
  2. Click on the Dissolve topic button.



Remove a topic which contains microposts

Transfer the topic's microposts to another topic

  1. Click on the "three-dots" button to open a context menu.
  2. Click on the Dissolve topic button. A dialog will appear.
  3. Select the option Yes, the microposts should be moved to the following topic.
  4. Choose a new topic for those microposts.
  5. Click on the Dissolve topic button.



Delete the topic and all of its microposts

  1. Click on the "three-dots" button to open a context menu.
  2. Click on the Dissolve topic button. A dialog will appear.
  3. Select the option No, I would like to delete the topic, and also all included microposts irrevocably.
  4. Click on the Dissolve topic button.

If the target topic is in a different space with different permissions than the old one, some users might not be able to edit or write new microposts anymore.