The profile page is extended by the Custom User Profile. It displays all (filled) profile categories and their properties which are retrieved from LDAP or set by the user. Also it shows a big profile picture, which is a larger version of your avatar.
Only fields that can be edited by the user will be shown
In the right top corner of your profile page you find an edit link to change your profile data. It will show a form containing all fields you are allowed to edit.
Your Admin can add new fields which you can edit yourself. Some fields, however, are automatically filled by a user directory (e.g., Active Directory or LDAP). These fields cannot be edited by users themselves; ask your administrator for further information.
The default view mode shows all fields that your admin has configured
The user profile macro is a preinstalled Confluence macro which we overwrite to display additional information about a user. It displays all fields that the administrator explicitly marked for display in the vCard.
You can choose between view mode "default" and "custom":
default: Uses fields configured by your administrator.
custom: Uses custom fields from the macro configuration.
Upload Profile Picture
After uploading a profile picture you can crop it
Your administrator can choose between different sources for your profile picture. If the option "Upload Profile Picture" is set, you are able to upload your own avatar and profile picture. The functionality is pretty much the same as the the way provided by Confluence.
Profile Completion Assistant
Complete your profile
The content of user fields extends the information about you and can help others to find persons and experts.
If the Profile Completion Assistant is enabled by your administrator, a dialog will appear if you haven't filled all mandatory fields.
You can skip the filling, but the overlay will appear on every login or page reload. If all required fields are filled the dialog will disappear and you can edit your settings as described above (Edit Profile)
If your admin has configured custom landing pages and your landing page has changed after saving, you will be redirected to the new landing page.
NEW since 1.9: Org Charts (beta version)
Connect to other users
You can now display a visual representation of your connections to other users (superior / subordinates) in our new tab "Org Chart" in your user profile (if the profile fields are configured accordingly by your administrator).
In order for all subordinates to be correctly displayed, all subordinates have to save their user profile again (will be fixed in an upcoming release).