Child pages
  • Terms of Use - Release 1.8 - Administrator's Guide
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata


Add and format your terms of use

Format the terms of use as you wish with HTML and edit the terms whenever you need to.

  1. Set a title.
  2. Explain why the terms are important to your users in the hint.
  3. Enter your custom terms of use in the content area.
  4. Then save your terms.

(info) Leave this empty to disable the Terms of Use.


Define recipients for revocation notifications

You can define users and/or groups who should receive an email notification if a user revokes the terms of use so that administrators can take any necessary further steps, e.g. deactivate the user's account.
If a user doesn't accept your terms of use, they will be redirected to the login screen. Users will see an additional warning so they don't revoke their agreement by mistake.


Agreement log for user activities

You can see which actions your users have or haven't taken with respect to the terms of use - administrators can see who has agreed and who has yet to take any action.

The version history lets you see the actions users took (or didn't take) to previous terms and and review earlier version's of the terms' content. This is important to comply with the GDPR - this information must not be deleted.

You can filter the list based on the agreement 'states', and search for specific users.


See the result

This is what the Terms of Use will look like for your users.

Your users will see this when:

  • they log-in the first time, or
  • the terms have changed.

You users will not see any terms of use if the content field was left empty.

If a user doesn't accept your terms of use, they will be redirected to the login screen. Once the user agrees, their agreement is stored. After you edit the terms, all users must agree again to the changed terms when they next try to log in.

A user can view or revoke their agreement at any time. On revoking, they are logged out and can only use the system again if they agree to the terms.

(info) Even if your users are logged in while you change the terms, they will immediately be shown the updated terms of use via a JavaScript redirect.


Remove Completely

To remove all plugin data you have to execute the following SQL commands after uninstall (written for PSQL)

DROP TABLE "AO_C952E1_DISCLAIMER";
DROP TABLE "AO_C952E1_REVOCATION_REC_GROUP";
DROP TABLE "AO_C952E1_REVOCATION_REC_USER";
DROP TABLE "AO_C952E1_USER_AGREEMENT";

DELETE FROM bandana WHERE bandanakey = 'net.seibertmedia.confluence.plugin.termsofuse-plugin:build';
DELETE FROM bandana WHERE bandanakey = 'AO_C952E1_#';