Child pages
  • Microblogging - First Steps
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata



Installation & licensing

Please refer to Atlassian's installation instructions: 
Installation via the Universal Plugin Manager

  1. Log in to your Confluence instance as an administrator.
  2. Open the Confluence general administration and click on "Find new apps" in the sidebar.
  3. Enter "Microblogging" in the field with the text "Search the Marketplace", then press Enter. The most recent version of Microblogging for Confluence will be listed.
  4. Click on "Free trial" to test the appfor 30 days, or click on "Buy now" when you want to purchase a licence for Microblogging for Confluence.
  5. You'll be prompted to register or log into MyAtlassian.
  6. After you have registered and logged in, Microblogging for Confluence will be automatically downloaded and installed in your Confluence instance.

Admininistration configuration

General configuration

You can choose to shorten microblog posts to a certain length followed by a "Show more" button.

Simply enter maximum height in pixels that you want the posts to be.

If you do not want posts to be truncated, simply leave the field empty.

 

Email notifications

You can allow users to subscribe to the microblog via email.

Enable this feature by default to send a daily summary of microblog posts to all microblog users.

You can also specify the default time when the notification email will be sent. This can be customized by each user.

 

Permissions

Set permissions for users who are allowed to create and comment on microblog posts.

You can choose between Confluence users who have the permissions:

  • Add pages
  • Add comments
  • Add news

It does not matter whether a user has received this right individually or via a group.

 

Embedding a microblog

Create topics

To integrate a microblog timeline into a page, at least one topic must be created.

You can create topics in two different ways.

Create topics within a Confluence space:
As a space administrator, you can create a new topic for the space in which the microblog is located - click on "Configure space", then on Microblog in the space configuration dialog.

Create topics from the general configuration:
As an administrator, go to General configuration, then on Microblog → Topics. There you can create new microblog topics within all spaces.

 

Embed a microblog timeline

To create your first microblog timeline, you must include the macro "Microblog Timeline" within a page.

  1. Create a new page or edit an existing page.
  2. Click "+ Insert more content" in the toolbar, and then click "Other macros"
  3. Search for "Microblog timeline" and click on it.
  4. You will now see the macro configuration. Configure the microblog according to your requirements (the section below covers the timeline configuration).
  5. Then click "Insert"
  6. Save the page.

 




Microblog timeline configuration

You can customize the look, functions, and content of the microblog in the Microblog timeline macro.

  1. What content should be displayed?

    Global:
    If you want microblog posts from all spaces and topics to be displayed in this timeline, choose Global as the default. Select the default topic to set it as the default for all users.

    Space:
    Select this as the default timeline to limit the contents of this timeline macro to a specific space.
    For example, we've selected the Activities space - only the contents of this space will be displayed in the timeline.
    Then select which topic should be set as the default.
    If you want to limit users to only seeing these posts, check the box to Restrict topic list.

    Topic:
    Even when the timeline is limited to a space, and a topic has been set as the default, the user can switch to other topics via the sidebar. To restrict users from seeing other topics, check the box to Restrict topic list.

  2. Should the sidebar be visible?

    You can specify whether the sidebar is visible or retracted by default.
    If the sidebar should be minimized, check the box Hide topic sidebar. Users can extend the sidebar by clicking on one of the buttons on the left.

  3. How many posts should be displayed in the timeline?

    Set how many posts should be displayed before the "Show older posts" button appears.
    You can select a number up to a maximum of 100. The default is 20. Note that this setting affects only the posts and not comments.

  4. How many comments should be displayed under a post?

    Set how many comments should be displayed under a post before the "X more replies" button appears.
    By default the button appears after 3 comments. Comments are displayed in chronological order, and older comments are hidden first.


(Info) You can see what your timeline looks like by clicking Preview - you don't have to save the page first.

 

Using the microblog timeline

Create your first microblog post

Writing a microblog post is just as easy as editing or annotating a page. It also uses the familiar Confluence editor. This lets you share information in various formats quickly and easily with other users. Just click in the text box to open the editor.

You can:

  • Format text
  • Insert links
  • Insert images
  • Use @ mentions to notify other users
  • Use # keywords/hashtags
  • Insert a variety of macros, for example draw.io diagrams
    (Info) Not all macros function within the microblog.

Finally, select the microblog topic where you want your microblog post to be shown.

 

Edit a microblog post

You can edit your microblog posts at any time, for example to correct a link, change the formatting, or insert an attachment.

(Warnung) Administrators can also edit the posts of other users.

When you save an edited post, you will see a note under the author's name showing that this post has been edited.
This is how other users know that something was changed. Clicking this link will display a version history dialog where the changes can be viewed.

(Info) Editing a post does not move it within in the microblog timeline.

 

Delete a microblog post

You can delete your own microblog posts. There is one rule that applies:

Only the most recent comment can be deleted.

That means, if another user has not replied to your post, you can delete it. As soon as there is a comment on the post, this comment must first be deleted, so the post can be deleted.
If two comments have been added, you need to delete the most recent comment first, then the older comment, and then the post itselt.
This ensures that the posts and their ensuing discussions can not be confusing because of deleted comments.

(Warnung) Administrators can delete posts and comments from other users.

 

  • No labels